Legal Question in Criminal Law in India

Dear Members,

In our multi storied building the TNEB had provided separate meter for recording the usage of electricity for swimming pool, gymnastic equipment, conference hall etc.The Association was charged on normal rates for residential use.

By end of the month of May this year a TNEB official visited the building and told the association that the usage of the equipment falls on commercial category.He levied new charges at revised rate and collected money on retrospective basis.

Not only that, he also asked association to pay compounding offence fee of Rs 12,000.The association paid.

All these were on oral demand without any written notice.

Will paying compounding offence fee amount to acceptance of guilt that the association knew it was doing a wrong thing ie doing commercial activity in residential zone.?

Asked on 6/10/13, 10:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Shrichand Nahar S.V.Nahar, Advocate
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

May be.

Read more
6/13/13, 4:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in India

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

87822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now