India  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/13/13, 9:55 pm

Dear Sir,

The dept. made a preliminary enquiry to find out some financial losses and take a few written statements from the concerned staff and had not given any chance to the concerned person to explain their defaults. The dept. lodge a FIR on the basis of their own preliminary enquiry against 3 persons by name. On the one side police started their investigations. When dept. finds there are no. of employees seems involve the defaults, subsequently dept. started their disciplinary proceeding including other persons with 3 who were in the FIR. Now total persons are 8 who have been found guilty in the departmental enquiry. All 8 persons have been penalized by minor penalty of stopage of 2/3 annual increments only. In the meantime, when the departmental enquiry was in process, the police has filed the charge sheet in the court in the name of 2 out of 3 of earlier FIR accused. The rest have not be charge sheeted in the court with the plea that their departmental proceeeding are pending. Where at the time of filing charge sheet in the court all the departmental proceeding against 8 were pending. The police has file the proceeding by supressing the material fact,saying that proceeding of two has been finalized and hence filed the charge sheet in the court is wrong.

Please let me know what is rule position in this case. Without having conclusion of crime by the department, can they file FIR before hand and then start departmental proceeding. And without having departmental proceeding decision can police can lodge FIR and start investigations and to file case in the court before having departmental enquiry deicision.

I am retired not having so much money to take expensive legal opinion. I request you to kindly help me out in the matter.

2 Answers


Answered on: 8/13/13, 11:13 pm by KarVai Legal Solutions

You may seek the opinion by showing the relevant documents.

Adv Rajv


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rajiv Gupta 9811284735 Ch.No: 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari, Delhi www.karvai.in Email: karvailegal@yahoo.com Delhi District Courts, High Courts, Supreme Court Delhi, 110001

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/13/13, 11:53 pm by Sudershan Goel

1. FIR can be lodged in the given situation.

2. The employer is free to start departmental proceedings.

You may approach the Legal Services Authority for free legal help, if required. However, for your guidance, the criminal proceedings and departmental proceedings can proceed simultaneously independent of each other.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sudershan Goel - Advocate Supreme Court of India and Punjab and Haryana High Court New Delhi And Chandigarh, 110001+160

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search