India  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/19/09, 8:55 am

Legal Question


Can a magistrate fine an accused Rs.6500 for non-appearance in his court for two years. If so, under what section? Section 29 of Cr.PC talks about the limitation of power of magistrate in sentencing an accused not for non-appearance.


question bubble
11/19/09, 6:53 pm

Legal Answer


Yes, he can fine.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 2:23 pm

Legal Answer


The court is entitled to impose fine. Read Cr. P. C.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA Punjab and Haryana High Court Chandigarh, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search