India  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
6/29/09, 2:07 am

Legal Question


Can you withdraw a criminal case?

Hello Lawyers,

I am suspecting a family member of mine to have forged a signature of mine for getting some money. I am planning on filing a criminal complaint with the police and going legally.

My question is - tomorrow if he agrees to compensate and we decide to patch up- he pays me money, begs etc, Can I wthdraw without being penalized? I mean I don't want to get a bad name that I unwantedly tried to penalize him or defame him, but come out clean.

Does the law allow it?

Thanks!

(This is for India)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search