India  |  Discrimination Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/19/13, 12:47 pm

One of my friend is forced by their parents to marry a minor girl. Her age is 14. He is strucked with the restrictions and his parents are saying that they will commit suicide if he doesnt marry that girl. They are from a good cultured background. he was unable to convince his parents. So can you please help by suggesting the way to proceed through law without harming anyone

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/20/13, 8:42 pm by shiv shakner saini

If they are from a good cultured background. They cant do such silly act.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


saini law Behind Dainik Bhasker,Old-Ginnani, Bikaner.09587744142,colorfullifes@yahoo.co.in Rajasthan High Court, 334001

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/20/13, 9:25 pm by KAMAL GROVER

If you want to go through legal course then call the police and request them to talk to your parents. After single talk they will never ever think about it. Coz as per law it is illegal under Restriction on child marriage act. Your friend, his parents, girls parents, everybody will be in jail, if they will try to do so.

Good luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/22/13, 10:57 pm by Jayesh Desai

Legal recourse is through police - cannot be done 'without harming anyone'.

Legally marriage is not valid in eyes of law, and the parents of both will land up in jail.

If they are from 'cultured family' then they will not go ahead with this marriage.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Jayesh Desai 609 Dalamal Towers Free Press Journal Marg Nariman point Mumbai, 400021

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search