Canada  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
11/19/06, 12:25 pm

Legal Question


Copyright infringement

I am a US citizen and former recording artist of an independant record company located in Toronto, Ontario - Canada. While surfing the web, I discovered that this company had released a ''best of the company CD''. Without my permission and me being the 100% copyright owner (both writer and publisher of the song, they used my song on this CD (even though I have not done business with them for over 7 years). They also had theier distributor put this CD containing my song on download sites (i.e. Apple iTunes, E-music etc) and made money from it. After I contacted iTunes and IODA and provided them with proof of my being the copyright owner, they removed the CD from all sites and provided me with the $ amount my song had made. This former record label named John H. Lennon Music, Ltd's distributor refues to give me my royalties and told me I would have to sue them. As a US citizen and they are in Canada, can i file just a small claims case against them. I don't have the funds to hire an attorney as I know that in a larger court, I could possibly win larger. There is a lot more fraudulent activity that they've done other than what I've mentioned.

Thanks,

JR


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search