United Kingdom  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/07/09, 11:08 am

Legal Question


Hello

About 8 years ago I went through a legal battle in the courts after fleeing domestic violence. In an effort my solicitors battled for me to have some maintainence from my ex-husband for myself. I was awarded something like 5 pence maintainance a year. The domestic violence left me disabled.My

solicitor adviced me to accept the 5 pence mainainence as it would keep the case open if in the future I ever needed to go back to court for maintenance. He no longer has to pay any child maintainence, as my children are grown up now. I was awarded no pension rights as that was not the law then. He has now retired from work on a medical pension and.has another job on top of his pension. I have returned to work now but struggle finacially to try and reach mortgage payments and have no protection for pension. I know that the law has changed and now in divorce pension rights have to be adhered to, but what happens if the law was not in place at the time, can it be persued now? Or is it still worth persuing a maintainance for myself. What holds me back is the thought of legal costs, as I have no savings to fall on.

I would be grateful for your advice.

Thank you

Monica Sharp


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search