India | Family Law
Legal Question
My boyfriend was married to another woman from his village when he was 18. After the marriage she stayed in the village and he was living in the city. Him and I met and fell in love,I am unmarried.
He asked his family for a divorce and they beat him and would not allow it.They told us that we were never to see each other again so we ran away together. We tried to get out of India but his village wife's name was in his passport. We contacted an agent to have the name removed. At this time his family found us, beat him, took his passport and documents and are forcing him to stay with her.
The reason we ran away was because he was afraid for his life and was being forced to work in the family business for no pay.He started a business 5 years ago and his uncle and brothers have taken it from him after it became successful.He wanted to split from the family business but they beat him and said no. He was married off to a woman that he doesn't love and now is being denied his legal documents and needs help.
1.Can the family keep his documents from him?
2.Can he get a divorce and on what grounds would it be if possible?
3.He would like to completely and legally have nothing to do with his family...is that some how possible to legally separate from his family?
4.Can the family or his wife get him in legal trouble/jail for being with me while still married?
5.Can they get him in trouble for passport fraud or something of that nature since he tried to make the name change?
6.What are his rights as he has been beaten and is afraid?
Please we are in desperate need of legal guidance. We are unsure where to start and who we should contact.


