India  |  Family Law

question bubble
7/09/09, 11:33 pm

Legal Question


Divorce without alimony

My wife hid her depression and suicide attempt before marriage and got married to me. After marriage she had another suicide attempt within a year of marriage.

1. If I am able to prove cheating of her hiding depression and suicide attempt before marriage do I still have to pay alimony after getting divorce?

2. If I am not able to prove cheating (pre-marriage suicide attempt), do I have to pay alimony if I can only prove mental cruelty by my wife (post marriage suicide attempt)? Also can I tell the court that because of her suicidal tendencies I cannot have kids since kids could be left without mother in future, husband cannot get mental peace and thus avoid paying alimony?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search