India | Family Law
Legal Question
Divorce Case questions
I live in US and I filed for divorce last year in Sept in India after that I came back to US. Next day my wife filed a dowry case against me, in that case I got the temporary bail & on the date of permanent bail judge granted me bail for 1 month & asked my attorney for me to appear in front of judge and say that I filed the case in India & i dont want to live with my wife. My question is the case was for bail hearing than can a judge ask me to come back in india for divorce case? and also if I go there can they keep my passport and not let me come back? or can I say to judge (by giving some medical certificate) that I cannot come? or What are my other options? I am just confused why he asked about divorce case in the bail hearing case.
P.S. one thing I know the girls parents know some high post people & they may have used their connection & asked the judge to call me back and may be they'll ask the judge again to keep my passport once I go? This case is going on in High Court..can I appeal somewhere else?
A quick reply will be highly appreciated.
Thanks!


