Syrian Arab Republic  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/25/08, 5:20 pm

Legal Question


Divorce

I am syrian citizen live in the US on green card( permenant resident) currently in syria getting married from Syrian female now in syria under syrian laws which assign certain amount of money to the woman in case divorce happen later on in life, and does't allow woman to share 50% of husband asset as it does in the USA, and my question if the marriage happen in syria according to syrian law but the wife moved to the USA later and we decided 2-3 years from now while living in the USA to get divorced , does US law apply to our marriage because we are going to live in the USA or not given the fact that marriage happen in syria and accroding ot our marriage certificate it decided that the woman only would assign certian amount of money after divorce, please advice me what I should do to keep our marriage accroding to syrian laws totally, I do't want US law to apply to my marriage and if it will , do u think I should make the wife sign Prenup agreement , thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search