Legal Question in Family Law in Philippines

Good day. I am a Flipina and married for 13 years. Last November, I decided to be separated from my husband because I decided to leave a situation which is not secure, unsafe, without dignity and without love. We have 2 daughters, ages 12 and 4. I decided to leave him since I've been unhappy and miserable for all the years I've spent with him, it's only last year that I've decided to left him since I fear him so much. He abuses me physically, emotionally and psychologically. He cheated on me several times too but all i got are physical abuse during those times of his womanizing, hence, I resorted in suffering in silence. But one day I decided to leave the demon, the monster so I could get a life.

To cut the story short, he thought and firmly believed that I left him for another man but I don't have a boyfriend. AT first, he is wooing me back with all sweet gestures and kind words but I don't give in since I know his true colors. For the past month Nov-March, I am allowed to see my kids over the weekend. By the way, i am paying for teh food, groceries, allowance and tuition fees of children including their clothes, shoes, and otehr miscellanous things. I could day that I pay 70% of the household expenses.

This April, he doesnt allow me anymore to see my daughters with the thought that I'm having an affair which have been an issue for 7 months already. My separation is not yet legal since I want a peaceful dialogue between us and if we could settle this in our ways, so that our children will not be affected much.

Now, I'm not asking for custody though i think its the best for my child. I'm only asking him for visiting rights or 2 nights/weekedn spent with children every week. He's in great anger that he even threaten me, my colleague/friend he thought was my boyfriend and those who supports me.

How can i have a custody or visiting rights to my children? is it the right time now or should I wait for him to have a clearer mind? or person like him wont change.

Asked on 5/06/13, 11:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

VOLTAIRE T. DUANO VOLTAIRE T. DUANO LAW OFFICE
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The 4 years old cannot be separated from you. File a petition for habeas corpus and child custody.

Read more
5/08/13, 8:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Philippines

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8788 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now