India | Family Law
Legal Question
can my husband get a divorce without my presence ?
This is going to be long because i want to give all details. my husband and i got married in Dec 07 in Bangalore. we were both previously married and been divorced with a child each. he has a son and i have a daughter. he is an american citizen of indian descent. two months after the marriage, he left to America and then sent me an email asking for a divorce. i refused and asked him to come to india and do it here. he has not come but his mother has come 3-4 times and created scenes here asking me to leave his house etc. he had sent me papers from the Dallas court asking for the divorce and i had sent an affidavit from here asking that the court not grant the divorce but that the indian court of law have jurisdiction over this. he has now sent me a letter from a lawyer from the US saying that the final trial date has been set by the court in dallas and it is set for oct 31, 2008 and that if i do not appear it will constitute default on my part. what should i do now? how do i deal with this? he has stranded me here with absolutely no funds or a place to stay and in a city where i have no one. is he not responsible to give me some maintainance? i am not working. can i contact the court there and if yes, how do i do it? thanks.


