India  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/02/09, 1:06 pm

Legal Question


I am with Mr. Sheshadri Srinivasan so far as his answer to my question on 498-A is concerned. In the interest of the society at large 498-A must be made non-cognizable. Women do not loose any thing if the provision is made non-cognizable, it will certainly avoid coercion and ill treatment by the police. Investigation officer is forgetting his limits and beocoming a hurdle for the spouses in getting the matter reconciled. I believe " Gods are pleased, where women are held in esteem.


question bubble
11/02/09, 1:54 pm

Legal Answer


plz mention ur querry.

Regards

adv.kamal.grover@gmail.com

KAMAL GROVER

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/02/09, 6:32 pm

Legal Answer


I am firmly of the opinion that the law needs to be strengthened to provide more teeth so as to deal with the erring husbands who consider marriage as a joke.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA Punjab and Haryana High Court Chandigarh, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/02/09, 8:38 pm

Legal Answer


My suggestion was usually Section 498 A must be charged along with some other heinous crime ( which by itself should be a cognizable offence) and only in such cases the whole case should be cognizable and not otherwise.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/02/09, 8:39 pm

Legal Answer


Section 498 A is more abused than used and this is what I have seen in my law practice.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search