India  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/20/09, 4:43 am

Legal Question


My wife had put a case under Domestic Violence Act in August 2008. I had put objections for the same. The Magistrate passed interim order for maintenance, which I am paying regularly. But the petitioner is draggin the case giving some thing or other reason and delaying the proceedings by not giving evidence. The Magistrate is also not bothered about this issue in spite of my counsel arguing to put cost on the petitioner. Also there are no stay orders from any higher courts. I want to bring this case to closure as this is a false case and I can easily come out of it if the proceedings start. Please let me know what should I do to bring her to the box and make her to give evidence.


question bubble
11/20/09, 7:26 am

Legal Answer


File application.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 4:06 am

Legal Answer


it is your lawyer who has to press for her presence and in case she does not appear and no lawyer or protection officer represents her, the case has to be dismissed in default.

RAJIV GUPTA

(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts Delhi, India., 110054

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 4:05 am

Legal Answer


it is your lawyer who has to press for her presence and in case she does not appear and no lawyer or protection officer represents her, the case has to be dismissed in default.

RAJIV GUPTA

(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts Delhi, India., 110054

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/30/09, 9:14 pm

Legal Answer


You may better cooperate with your lawyer and follow his advice.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA Punjab and Haryana High Court Chandigarh, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search