Australia  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 10:43 pm

Legal Question


Are there any legal limitations to a US citizen who wants to preach and minister in a church in Australia? Must one have a license to do this? If so, is there a particular AU governmental agency over these possible requirements?


question bubble
11/16/09, 10:54 pm

Legal Answer


In every state except the Northern Territory in Australia, there are no formal licencing requirements to preach as a minister, however, to conduct marriages or funerals there are certain registration requirements. The Register of Births Deaths and Marriages in each state handles these registers. Also, many denominations in church groups have requirements for some type of training or formal qualification to be authorized to preach within their congregations. Let me know if you would like more information.

David Coleman

Ziman and Ziman Lv 3 88 Walker Street North Sydney North Sydney, NU 2060

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search