Australia  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
7/20/08, 8:15 am

Legal Question


Marrying a non-citizen

My boyfriend and I are talking about getting married in Hawaii. He is Australian and I am a U.S. citizen.

If we're living in Australia at the time we get married and fly to Hawaii for the marriage, is it as simple as flying back to Australia? Will the marriage be recognized there? What would I need to do for the Australian government?

What would we need to do if we move back to the U.S.?

If we're in the U.S., he will already be here on a work visa, what steps would we need to take then?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search