India  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/10/01, 12:59 am

Legal Question


Wrong Spouse Details in Passport

Hello,

I am on a H1-B visa from India and currently live in NJ. 5 years ago, when I applied for my passport in India, the broker who filled in my application entered wrong info as for my spouse details. He asked for a beneficiary name and I gave my uncle's kid's (born 1987) name since I was a single/unmarried guy. But whereas, the passport came out with my uncle's kid as my spouse!! I could not get it rectified then as I was to leave India in a hurry. Now, I plan to marry a USA citizen but the spousal entry in my passport is concerning me. I dont want the INS/Goverments to think I have two wives or this will keep me from marrying. I can get the kid's birth-certificate and an affidavit too from her father as for the fact stating such marriage never took place, if required.

Please help how to fix this mistake in my passport. I should like to know what I should do so I can get married legally.

Thanks in advance!

Shekhar


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search