India | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Accident Claim from Insurance Company, India
Dear Sir,
My son aged 25 (Diploma Holder) was working as a senior engineer(Ashoka BuildCon Pvt Ltd) -Roadways and was drawing a consolidated pay around of Rs.10,000/- pm. While he was proceeding to his duty on 30/04/2001, he met with an accident by a Lorry and died while on the way to hospital.The Lorry Driver surrendered at Local Police Station and accepted his mistake. The lorry was insured with New India Assuance Company. The Local Court gave the verdict that it was an accident and also fined the lorry driver. For the compensation purpose, a case was filed against the insurance company at Special Court, Krsihnagiri, Tamil Nadu.
In the petition, the claim was Rs.35,00000/-. All the required papers were properly produced. The case is now being in the judgement stage which says that a diploma holder is eligible only for Rs.9,72000/- as compensation which I feel is very low for my son case cosidering his age, qualification, experience(5 years) and his post. He also got a offer from L&T Company as AE after his demise.
Is it worth going for a appeal in Madras High Court ?.
Please kindly consider my case and reply. Waiting for you reply.
Thanks


