India  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
6/28/04, 12:05 pm

Legal Question


Claiming Health Insurance

My parents took health insurance from a leading insurance company for three months to visit Europe.My dad is diabetic patient and due to long touristic walk he got blisters on foot.We approached the hospital for treatment of blisters and then we found out that his blood sugar was above normal and the doctor suggested immediate hospitalization for the treatment of his diabetes.The hospital expenses came upto 2500 euros.The insurance company denied to pay this amount showing the following clause in the insurance policy as the reason''Acute decompensation of diabetes with the begining of ulceration&blisters which has arised due to complications of diabetes.This entire Policy does not provide benefits for any loss resulting in whole or in part from, or expenses incurred, directly or indirectly in respect of ''any Pre-existing Condition.''The doctor's report says,''The blisters are due to extensive walking.Besides that, having diabetes made it necessary to take special care of these wounds to avoid worsening like ulceration.''We believe that treatment of diabetes was compulsory for the treatment of the wounds and the insurance must pay because it is impossible to treat wounds with high blood sugar.How can we fight to get our money back?Thnx


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search