India  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/16/09, 12:23 am

Legal Question


I wish to know more about the patent law which insists to use the molucular name rather than Company name for medicines. i heared something like this is going to be implimented in India..true?any more news regarding this?


question bubble
11/16/09, 1:06 am

Legal Answer


so far such amendment in drugs and cosmetics act is not within my knowledge.

RAJIV GUPTA

(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts Delhi, India., 110054

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/16/09, 9:19 am

Legal Answer


All over the world, patent for drugs is issued only in molecular name.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 8:07 pm

Legal Answer


It has to do with clarity. The whole problem with using trade names is the potential for confusion (lack of clarity), which may result in uneforceability of a patent. If a patent describes something with a trade name, does that mean the molecular species of the active ingredient, or the active ingredient, or the drug product, or the commercially available formulation including any extensions? What if the company changes the formulation?

On the other hand, using molecular formula is generally not ambiguous.

There is nothing wrong with using trade names in patents, as long as you are very, very careful that it is clear from the description what the trade name means.

Peter Mlynek

Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott 50 South 16th St., 22nd Floor Philadelphia, PA 19102

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search