India | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
pressed for time on sale of property of deceased
My father passed away in November 2002. He had property in Navsari, Gujerat and had given power of attorney to the caregiver there to run the place. Since his death we have been informed by a cousin of ours that we had a time of 90 days to send through a copy of the death certificate with our signatures to claim the property or it will be given away to the state. In front of the property is a shop and this shop owner has prposed to buid a store room to the state can he do this? Also we fear that the request from my cousin about us submitting the death certificate and our signatures would entitle him to do as he pleases and he will then use the documentation to get the property for himself. Could you please advise us? Is there a time constraint on changing the owenership of the property?


