India  |  Investment Law

question bubble
8/05/09, 3:10 am

Legal Question


An award is given against a client and in favour of the broker by the arbitrator in NSE Kolkata. But, the client,s account was in Orissa branch of the broker.The broker filed the case with NSE Kolkata. can the client challenge the award in orissa high court or cosumer court in orissa !


question bubble
8/05/09, 5:59 am

Legal Answer


An Arbitration Award may be challenged in accordance with the Arbitration & Concilliation Act 1996. You may engage an Advocate to file your objections and guide you in the matter.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA Punjab and Haryana High Court Chandigarh, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/04/09, 6:02 am

Legal Answer


You must challenge the award on grounds as given under the law only.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search