India  |  Employment Law

question bubble
9/02/10, 12:33 pm

Legal Question


In case of termination from an IT company, it is observed that companies terminate employees on the same day when they give the notice. Especially during the last recession time, majority of IT companies have laid off their employees without giving a single day notice.

However, if an employee wants to leave a company, he has to serve the notice period (one to three months) mentioned in the company policy. It is strange and unethical that the one party (employee) has to abide the rules whereas other party (employer) can easily violate it.

I am not sure about the Labour rules in India and how strong are they so that a victim can approach the court/labour office to get a justice. I would appreciate your advice on this matter.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search