Lebanon  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
5/05/08, 5:56 am

Legal Question


Problems with Neighbor

Hi,

My problem is fairly simple. I

live in building that has 12

units. We all agreed to pool our

resources together and save

USD14,400 for a series of

verbally agreed upon

renovations. We verbally

appointed one of our neighbors

to supervise the project. The

work was uncompleted and the

parts that were done are very

bad. On top of that, he claims

to have spent USD5,500 from

his own pocket, without our

knowledge or consent, in

addtition to the the

USD14,400 we gave him. He is

demanding the extra sum and

is now threatening to destroy

the building. We are sure he

has mis-managed the intial

funds as the work done does

not reflect the amount

invested. We have made it

clear that we won't pay a

penny unless a quantity

surveyor is brought in to value

the work done. All this is to no

avail - he keeps on

threatening. What is our legal

standing in this case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search