India  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
8/24/10, 10:36 am

Legal Question


If the secretary has not conducted the AGM for 7years and no aduit has been conducted wheather the dues can be recovered under any section/byelaw of the society


question bubble
8/24/10, 10:41 am

Legal Answer


no society can run without dues paid by its members. the fibre of society gets punctured in absence of payment of dues. However, no agm or no election is a seperate issue for which you have other remedies. But if dues are imposed by the executive alone and the executive is defunct or functus officio then payment of dues is not a liability.

Vishwa Arya

Arya & Co. Lawyers' Chamber No. 551, New Delhi Courts, Patiala House, New Delhi, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search