India  |  Mediation

question bubble
9/14/09, 10:12 pm

Legal Question


We are an EPC contracting company. In one of the contracts, we filed for arbitration. My query is-- Can the arbitrator order the respondent to pay interest compounded annually on the payment due?


question bubble
9/15/09, 10:21 pm

Legal Answer


Rates of Interest ( compounded or simple interest) can be awarded if it is in accordance with the agreement.

Other wise at interest rates as found reasonable up to the date of the award.

S.Seshadri

Phones: 98403 20808 / 28515229

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search