India | Personal Injury
Legal Question
8 years back I was charged in an automobile accident. The person who filed the case fractured his leg in the accident. I got bail and the case never progressed because this person never came to court. One year into the case I left for the US and have been living here since then. Since I wasn't available to attend court hearings, I was declared a proclaimed offender. Lawyers tell met, if I were present to attend the hearings the case will drop the case. I don't want to take the chance of being denied bail and then having to wait in India for court hearings which can take forever. I am told the penalty for the charges against me is a couple of thousand bucks! but being denied the ability to travel back to the US if I were to surrender is not an option for me. Please advice on how I can handle this mess?
Appreciate your help.


