India  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/12/10, 10:11 am

Legal Question


1) I had purchased a property in my name in the year 1974 when we lived as joint family but this property was purchased with my own income. I got married in the year 1978 and we seperated from joint family in 1998. Also had been paying property tax in my name till date and Patta of property is also in my name as per Tamilnadu rules. The following three things happened with my property sequently:

i) In the year 1986 i had written an UNREGISTERED settlement deed in my wife's name.

ii)Later in 1990 i had written a UNREGISTERED Koorchit for the same property in my brother's name.

iii) Later in 2000 i had written an UNREGISTERED settlement deed in my son's name.

Please clarify who has legal right on this property myself, my wife, my brother or my son, since my wife, brother and son are fighting for there ownership?

2) Also please clarify if UNREGISTERED koorchit is legally valid?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search