India | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Dispute with Society
Dear Sirs,
While I was out of the country and interior design work (permission taken from committee) going on in the flat, two committee members entered the flat without informing me.
The committee members fined me Rs 25000 for ''touching and scraping'' the structural columns. The nature of works were repair to wall plaster and tiles because of bad condition.
My questions:
1) Does a housing society committee member in Mumbai have the right to enter any residents flat without permission?
2) No commitee member is a licensed structural engineer. without this knowledge can they make a blind accusation and fine me as above?
3) Upon request, We submitted a letter from a licensed structural engineer that the nature of works didnt disturb the columns. Still they ignored and fines us. Is this right?
Your response will be appreciated. Thanks


