India | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
A family arrangement memorandum has been drawn up. A house, an immovable property has been divided among four brothers. The shares are A, B, C and D among the brothers M, N, O and P.
N’s share of A is greater than that of M’s share of B. He pays Rs.60000/ to offset the excess share he has received.
Similarly P whose share D is greater than that of O’s share C pays Rs.30000/ to offset his excess share.
Does this amount to a sale/ transfer attracting Transfer of Property Act /Registration Act as the family arrangement does not require registration?
Legal Answer
no, it does not amount to transfer of property rather it is a partition under family settlement. better get the same registered to avoid future complications.
(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts Delhi, India., 110054
► Other answers from this attorney

