Legal Question in Real Estate Law in India

Hello,

My Grandfather died 14 years ago. Soon after, his property (self- earned) was divided equally amongst his sons and daughter. This was carried out with everybody's consent,including my Grandmother's. However now, after 14 years, my Grandmother want a share in the property co-owned by my father and uncle (ancestral property). However, the will states that, my grandmother has the right to live in the house (co-owned by my Father an uncle). It does not state her to be an owner of the property. Will this clause in the will be a problem if my father decides to sell the house? Can my grandmother claim 1/3rd right over the property?

Asked on 6/26/13, 11:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jayesh Desai Jayesh Desai
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

She cannot claim 1/3 share, but she object to sale, as long as she wants to live there.

Read more
8/29/13, 6:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in India

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now