India  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 9:54 am

Legal Question


Hi,

I am a joint owner of my flat with my ex-husband. Does it matter if he is the first name on the agreement? Is it possible that he can sell the house without my consent? Also, the maintenance of the flat is paid by me solely but the receipt comes from the society on his name. Can I request the society to give the receipt on my name?

Thanks,

Mohini


question bubble
11/17/09, 7:39 pm

Legal Answer


Both have equal share. Society can give receipt in joint or your name.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 2:06 am

Legal Answer


in case you both are joint owners and it is a society flat, even then, your husband can sell it but in that situation you have no option but to get the sale set aside. society would not change the ownership unless you also a party to it. name of receipt is not important.

RAJIV GUPTA

(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts Delhi, India., 110054

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search