Re: International Power Of Attorney
(Disclaimer:
Dear Madam/Sir/Ms,/M/s,
Please note : The use of Internet E-mail for confidential or sensitive information is discouraged. This is free information given to you purely on the basis of the facts narrated by you in the query, to which it is limited, purely as a public resource of/for general information, it is not intended to be a source of advertising, solicitation or to constitute legal advice. Thus, you are advised NOT to consider this information to be an invitation for an attorney-client relationship, nor should you rely on this information without first seeking the opinion of competent counsel/advocate/lawyer in your own state. You are advised to get in touch with an Advocate/Lawfirm/ Certified Legal Counsel closest to you for further legal advice/ legal help before you take any further action. This does not constitute a legal opinion nor has it been rendered on the actual personal verification of all the material facts.
You may, if you like, subject to the above, personally get in touch with the undersigned with all material documentary /electronic record for a detailed discussion in the matter. Ph No:+91-040-3328320......10 a.m to 5 p.m
Mobile:0-98490-54056 Resi:+91-040-3351409 )
An International format in respect of powers of attorney being unknown in view of it being subject to the laws of the land in which it is to be executed with specific reference to the laws of the land in which it is to take effect, is subject only to these two aspects.
Your recorded requirement for such a document is in view of purchase of property by your father in India which he is desirous of registering in your name. You are a resident of the U.S.
Section 32 of the Registration Act, 1908 as applicable in India, indicates the persons(in this case your father) who shall be entitled to present documents for registration at the proper registration office as an agent of such person(you in this case), representative or assign duly authorised by a power of attorney executed and authenticated in the manner mentioned thereunder.
Section 33 defines a Power of Attorney recognisable for the purposes of Section 32(above) as (c)if the principal(you are the principal) at the time aforesaid does not reside in India(as in this case), power of attorney executed before and authenticated by a Notary Public, or any Court, judge, Magistrate, Indian Counsul or Vice Consul, or representative of the Central Government:......
Further under Section 18 of the Indian Stamp Act,1889 an instrument other than bills and notes executed out of India has to be stamped with the appropriate duty "within three months after it has been first received in India." Therefore, you could buy the Stamp paper in India but would have to ensure that it is properly executed and returned as any refund or adjustment of Stamp Duty is possible only within six months.
Regards,
Bimal.B.Bhaskar