Pakistan  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 9:29 am

Legal Question


Hi, here is a question on a friend's behalf. He and his wife are US citizens and are currently in Pakistan. He is heading back to the US to sell his house, while his wife would be staying back. However, he needs a power of attorney letter from his wife. I was wondering if there is a particular form that he needs to get signed from her and if so, where can one download that form from?

Many thanks


question bubble
11/05/09, 7:14 am

Legal Answer


Power of Attorney should be presented to Ministry of Foreign Affairs for attestation alongwith Succession Certificate and Guardianship Certificate. To get the attestation the executant(s) has to be present in person to sign the Power of Attorney or it should be registered with concerned Sub-Registrar. Then attested copy will be considerd a valid copy to be used by a person abroad

Rashid Ramay

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/07/09, 11:42 am

Legal Answer


in fact if you need to send a power of attorney of a person who is a us citizen or green card holder and he or she is not in the USA than you have to prepare the document of General power of attorney ( durable or non durable ) as the case may require, get it attested from the local embassy abroad and send it to USA for execution where it will be first registered and verified and than becomes executable.Feel free to contact to prepare the document of POA.

Sheikh Mohammed Akram Nazir

Akram Nazir Law Chamber 13 F, Sharjah Centre, 62- Shadman Market Lahore, 54000

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search