India  |  Securities Law

question bubble
9/23/09, 5:38 am

Legal Question


A Bank is having registered mortgaged property in 2002 and after 5 years the Income Tax department has attached the same property in 2007 for there dues. Now the Bank has taken possession and decided to sell the property under SARFAESI Act 2002. What will be the implications of the sale. The I.T dues will prevail over the Bank dues or the Bank having prior registered mortgagee will have right to retain the sale proceeds. (In the I.T Act there is no provision of First Charge over the property.)


question bubble
9/23/09, 9:12 am

Legal Answer


IT department claim, being subsequent to prior registered mortgage, the same will be secondary.

But Bank may have to declare the fact of charge to IT department also in its sale notices.

S. Seshadri

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search