India  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
10/10/09, 11:56 am

Legal Question


Is there a law against sexual harrassment applicable for the following situation

Girl and boy are friends and share good and bad times. Boy likes girl. Girl doesn't like the boy, clarifies the stand, but remains as friends. When the girl gets engaged eventually, boy doesn't take responsibility of his sad state of affairs and entirely puts the blame on the girl. Boy sends threatening mails and phone calls to the girl after she announces her engagement with really no case for himself. When can the threats be treated as mental harrassment by law? When should the police be called? The girl is only afraid that the boy may cause any disruption during the wedding or continue to mentally torture her before, during and after the wedding.


question bubble
10/10/09, 1:06 pm

Legal Answer


This type of case is EVE TEASING. Report to the police immediately with the help of your parents.

Regards

adv.kamal.grover@gmail.com

KAMAL GROVER

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/17/09, 9:56 am

Legal Answer


Any irritating behaviour may be 'criminal intimidation' and the girl may lodge a complaint with the police.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA Punjab and Haryana High Court Chandigarh, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/07/09, 9:25 pm

Legal Answer


You will have to report to the Police as this is a case of eve-teasing, criminal intimidation and also blackmail.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search