India  |  Tax Law

question bubble
11/20/09, 7:10 am

Legal Question


There is an Educational society registered under society registration act which runs about 5 institutions,The said society claims that there is a supreme court order which exempts such societies from income tax on their income upto Rs 1 crore.Pl advise whether such society is correct in its plea and whether such society will also be exempt from filing Income Tax returns .What is the way out if the society has failed to file income tax returns


question bubble
11/20/09, 7:17 am

Legal Answer


The obligation to pay tax is different from the obligation to file return. It is better to consult lawyer with deed of trust and its amendments, the exact business being run and then take advise on the liability to tax.

warm regards

helpdesk@lawconcern.com

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search