India | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Cancellation of Settlement Deed
An old lady of 76 years executed a settlement deed in favour one of her nephews. Ignoring another nephew and nieces. It was her self earned property. Terms of the deed are that she has not handed over the property to her nephew that she would continue to occupy the immovable property and enjoy benefits of the property during her lifetime. After her death, the rights in the property would be vested in the settlee.
Now, she realised her folly and intends to cancel the settlement deed and execute another deed including other members also who were left out earlier. Can she cancel the settlement deed? If so on what grounds?


