India | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Family Property Dispute
My mother-in-law has filed a property dispute case in district court against me.
My father-in-law by his own purchased a plot and constructed a house, registering the property on his name. After my father-in-law’s death the ownership of the property was transferred in the name of my mother-in-law in 1990 with the agreement of my husband and his 2 sisters and 1 brother.
In 2003 my husband decided to live in with the family, as my husband was suffering from uncurable decease so he took VR from his services but unfortunately he died.
Me and my son shifted to live in with my in-laws and we were provided a single room to live in with my in-laws, now my mother-in-law has filed a case that I have forcibly occupied a room in that house. She (mother-in-law) has stated she is the sole owner of that house and I have no right to own a room in that property.
Please advice me do I or my son have any right on that property or not.


