India | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
When my father expired he left a unregistered will, wherein, he left everything to my mother. He has shares worth more than Rs 1,00,000 in his demat A/c, but there was no nomination in his A/c. Now HDFC depository wants us to get the Will Probated or Succession Certificate issued. Is it necessary by law to go through these lengthy legal procedures, to get the shares transferred in my mother's name, when my father left everything to my mother and there is no dispute regarding that in my family ? If necessary, are these the only 2 procedures to get the shares transferred ? Out of all the options which one is an easier option and also what would be the taxes applicable in each option ?


