India  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/11/09, 1:23 pm

Legal Question


Hi, I live in US and my entire family lives near Pondicherry, India. I have 6 siblings.

My mother and my father passed away in the last 3 years leaving 2 separate wills.

There is NO dispute. My questions is ...

1. Do I have to be present in India to obtain a probate?

2. Once I have obtained a probate what do I do to transfer my share to my name?

Your answer will be much appreciated.

Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search