India  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/11/09, 12:54 pm

Legal Question


our mother passed away intestate, she has a plot of land in India . and me and my brother are the only legal heirs to that , as we have no other siblings , and our father passed away many years ago. The land was acquired by my mother and she made my brother who was at that time a minor co owner of the land. as she left no will , i am now 25% owner of her share. ie.. my brother owns 75% and me 25% .

both of us want to avoid the time consuming hassle and expensive situation of getting a succession certificate.

If I sign a relinquishment deed giving up my right to the land , then

a)does my brother become 100% owner

b)does this avoid the neccisity of a succession certificate

c)I have no children so there is no question of any grand children on my side making any claims now or later.

advice will be much appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search