Israel  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/14/06, 11:01 am

Legal Question


Rights of beneficiaries

My children's Grandmother died in Israel this year and her estate is being probated there. She has assets in Israel and in the USA. My children are beneficiaries of their Grandmother's will. They have received nothing so far, except for one letter from an attorney saying they are beneficiaries and another letter from their aunt asking them to sign a receipt and consent to release regarding assets in a Merrill Lynch account. They are reluctant to sign a receipt without receiving the funds first or knowing what assets are in the esate.

They question why are they receiving letters from their aunt instead of the attorney for the estate?

I am a paralegal in the USA and handle probates and we automatically send beneficiaries the will, the estate inventory and an accounting.

Under Israeli law, are they entitled and supposed to receive a copy of the will and a copy of the inventory of the estate assets and an accounting?

I would appreciate a response as soon as possible - thank you very much.

--name removed-- Hallandale Beach, FL


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search