Alabama  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/06/00, 8:52 pm

Legal Question


Eldercare laws

I am caring for a terminally ill parent and am looking at ways to perserve her estate. If she has to be admitted into a nursing home due to medical needs is there any way to protect her estate? My understanding is that you have to deplete her estate before medicaid starts paying. I have read articles in Kiplinger's Magazine that say there may be ways to perserve part of her estate depending on which state you live in. Where would I go to find additional information?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search