Alabama  |  Banking Law

question bubble
2/23/10, 4:14 pm

Legal Question


I filed bankrutcy in 1977 and owed my federal credit union. This debt was submitted when I filed bankruptcy. I have since builded my credit score. Last week I was trying to purchase a car and the dealership applied for credit for me through this credit union. I was turned down because they still had on their books a loan that I had over 30 years ago, How long should credit union hold this against me? I spoke with someone and the lady said I would never be granted a loan. Is this the law regarding credit? I don't think everyone is treated that way? You would think I committed murder or something.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search