Alabama | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
dismissed case
several years ago i filed ch. 13, due to short-term dis. insurance refusing to pay out. i was a single mother and had to put the needs of my child first. after paying for over a yr. i became unemployed. i notified the law office of the situation and they sent papers to fill out(said they could refile so i would not have to finish paying). i did so and sent them back. a while later i got a letter from the trustee stating that my case had been dismissed. i also got a payout form and no money went to any creditors, it all went to the lawyer, more than 1200.00. his fee was not that much. can anything be done about this or can/do i just wait this out. is there a time limit on the ability to collect on a debt? thank you in advance.


