Alabama  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
8/21/09, 1:31 pm

Legal Question


I'm faced with having to file bankruptcy due to collection action by a credit union with whom I was a joint signer on a credit card with my ex-husband. He ran up the balance to over $17k after the divorce.

My concern is more now about my home...the value of my home has fallen in the last year and a half by $70k. I now owe $56k more than it is worth. Is the best advice to let go of the home as part of the bankruptcy as well? Only reaffirm my vehicle and a credit card issued through my employer in order to retain my job? Chapter 7 being the best option?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search