Alabama | Business Law
Legal Question
Personal Property Being Deleted Without Notification
1. I agreed verbally to allow a web server owner to host my internet site. He did not state that there were any content restrictions either verbally or in writting and admitted this in an email.
2. He allowed access to the webserver system while he had not yet taken payment although provided with my credit card.
3. Several days after working on my personal site he sent an email stating he disagreed with the web content and stated via email he would remove the content immediately. While he stated he would give 24 hours for me to remove the content he did not. He deleted the files within a few hours of that email and would not allow me access to gain them back. I had yet to make a back up because the site was just developed on March 9, 2003.
4. Eventually he did provide a few files ''recovered'' but did not give me any of the content he felt was inappropriate.
5. The site was an events page but very taxing to rebuild and needed to be done. What recourse is there against this person for lost time/emotional distress/unfair business practices?
I have saved all of the emails for review.


