Alabama  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/02/09, 1:05 pm

Legal Question


im 16, pregnant & my boyfriend is 20. we're in love & plan to spend the rest of our lives together but my mother does not approve because of his race. how would i go about moving out & getting married without parental consent?


question bubble
11/09/09, 1:45 pm

Legal Answer


I don't see a Judge granting you relief from "minority" status (i.e. being underage) when you are pregnant, have no job, etc. Your mom may press charges against your boyfriend for statutory rape if push comes to shove. Three years is no big deal. Stay at home, finish school and tell your boyfriend to get a really good job and pay child support so your mom may change her opinion about him.

Randal Ford

Randal S. Ford, Attorney at Law 2330 University Blvd. Suite 601 Tuscaloosa, AL 35402

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search